A little square.

Don’t laugh – too hard, at least. As promised, I decided to do a little collage project inspired by the wonderful artist Randel Plowman.

I’m a little nervous to share but oh well…here goes…

Last night, when it was nice and quiet, I made a cup of tea and locked myself away in my office. Delighted, nervous and excited, I surrounded myself with my new collection of old papers, beautiful napkins, doilies and vintage ads. I cut out a small cardboard square 4″ x 4″ for my background.

For a while, I felt overwhelmed and jumpy, picking up one piece of paper, then another, gazing at them and then putting them aside. What was I looking for? I needed an inspiration…a direction. I could feel myself backpedaling, that little voice saying, “What are you doing?” and “You don’t know how to do this!” I pushed through it and let my intuition guide me.

When I thought I had found the perfect starting piece, I flipped it over to apply the glue and discovered that the other side was just what I had been looking for. It found me. Reassured, I continued. Like a sailor getting used to the land again, I slowly stumbled and wavered until my creative confidence re-emerged.

It’s a modest beginning. A little square. But it’s my little square and I made it.

“Anticipation”

cardboard, magazine papers, vintage paper, doily, glued, pen, colored pencil, applied bead

I went to bed with sticky fingers, tiny pieces of paper clinging to me and a big smile of my face.

xo,

2 Comments

Filed under Art, Crafting, Stories, Thoughts

2 responses to “A little square.

  1. Marty

    Haha, you are so funny – with sticky fingers and paper clinging to you. Sometimes you just have to go ahead and lose yourself to a project. I can’t help but imagine how much fun you must be to Grace. That’s one thing I remember when thinking about my mother – she loved to say that she ‘played’ all her life…..and indeed she was so much fun. I have a beautiful picture I bought for her years ago that makes me think of your creativity. I will try to take a picture of it and forward it to you.

    Happy Tuesday !

    Marty

  2. joanna

    Hi Ivette,
    I love it! The “little square” is beautiful. Your writing so touches on the moment of getting beyond the fear and creating. I just finished a artist’s retreat week in Norfolk, CT with Jenn (she was writing). You must join us next summer. I read Rilke’s book Letter’s to a Young Poet. Have you read it? I think you would love it. It is about the process of creating and the importance of solitude. Miss you!
    -Jo

I would love to hear from you! What are your thoughts?

