I will miss you Sydney.

Sydeny 2002-2010

Tonight we put down our cat, Sydney. She had stomach cancer. This afternoon she was sitting in my lap and now…she’s gone. It’s amazing the emptiness a pet leaves when they are gone. The house feels empty, her food bowl sits there undisturbed, her catnip mouse lies in the corner. I miss her so much. She was a shy kitty. I mostly saw her at night, once Grace was in bed. She would come and sit with me, quietly purring. A warm weight on my legs. But tonight…nothing. I’m left only with warm tears running down my cheeks.

My only comfort – she is with my other kitty, Gabriel. They used to sleep together. Now, I hope they lay once more, in each others arms…

xo,

5 Comments

Filed under Thoughts

5 responses to “I will miss you Sydney.

  1. :sends you all my love:
    It’s so hard.

  2. awwww, look at those little babies! it is so very hard to lose a pet; they are missed so much! you’re in my thoughts, sweets- I know how hard it is.
    *hugs*
    xoxo

  3. Marty

    Oh Ivy I am so very sorry. This breaks my heart. I had always only had dogs until 3 years ago when I inherited my daughters cat and I love her to death. I understand your feelings so well as I have lost a few babies like this of my own. I know Sydney loves you for having the strength to not let her suffer….and now she is at peace and rest. Thinking about you -and your family today.

  4. Thanks so much to everyone for sending me love and hugs. I really appreciate it. You guys are the best! xo

  5. I am so sorry to hear this. That was terrible. Rest in peace, Sydney. I hope the memories with her will keep your heart warm. Hugs. xo Kaho

I would love to hear from you! What are your thoughts?