Little time, lots of inspiration.

Hello friends,

I know I promised to share more art so here are some pics of what I’ve been creating lately. I’m on week 6 of my Jeanne Oliver online art course. Its been an incredible ride! So much to learn, so much to create and SO little time! I’m trying to be patient with life and accept that I can’t paint all day while managing a household, two little kids and a very busy husband. Patience is not one my strengths.

I also have to really watch myself. You see, I get a little competitive. My fellow students are constantly posting all the beautiful art they are creating and I want to KEEP up…but alas, I simply cannot.  Luckily, we have access to the class for two years!

Here is a little Cézanne watercolor/charcoal study…this was a fun and relatively quick exercise. He was a genius at layering color with watercolors! Something, I’ve yet to master.

Screen Shot 2014-02-24 at 1.18.20 PM

Next, I attempted to paint one of Cézanne’s favorite landscapes…Mont Sainte-Victoire. He painted this scene over 60 times! This was a tricky one. SO many colors but I really enjoyed the challenge.

Screen Shot 2014-02-24 at 1.18.30 PM

Here’s a close up of my version.

Screen Shot 2014-02-24 at 1.18.42 PM

Painting Cézanne landscapes, inspired me to try one myself. Although, I’m not in love with this piece it was good for me to do something outside my comfort zone. This is an Irish landscape, depicting O’Brien’s tower.

Screen Shot 2014-02-24 at 1.18.54 PM

Then we went on to study Botticelli. I have not done my painting yet but I loved sketching from his work. His faces are brilliant and so beautiful.

Screen Shot 2014-02-24 at 1.19.08 PM

Screen Shot 2014-02-24 at 1.19.19 PM

Okay, and lastly, I wanted to recommend this book to all those creative Mama’s out there! I kinda horde art books but this one is my favorites right now. It gives me hope that if I plan a little better, I can find more time for my art and not neglect my kids!

Screen Shot 2014-02-24 at 1.19.29 PM

Alright…well I best be going. I hear little Claire bear waking from her nap. Back on the job! ;)

Hope all is well in your world. Try and take time for yourself to create, read, cook or whatever makes you happy – you won’t regret you did! Also, I would love to know any tips on carving out this time – since I’m kinda struggling! Let me know what works for you!

Much love,

Ivy

15 Comments

Filed under Art, Books, creativity, Learning, painting, Thoughts

15 responses to “Little time, lots of inspiration.

  1. I think you are doing really well. I haven’t found the time to even check out this on-line course. Sometimes it helps me, when I find that making a living and responsibilities get in the way of my art, to remember that famous artists from the past and professional artists of our times had and have studios away from the house and, up until the 1960′s, women who took care of the children and house and the food. You are doing it all, so be kind to yourself and give yourself some kudos for what you are accomplishing. I admire you.
    Ginene

  2. Hello Ivy, Thank you for keeping it real. No matter where we are in our motherhood, making room for creativity will always be a challenge. While you are raising young children, my daughter is now 16 and I still find I am juggling so many things in running a household and carving out some time each day to create. I know that “Patience is a virtue” that I try to keep in mind. We have all our lives to create. Keep inspiring us!

  3. I admire what you are accomplishing, especially with your art. I think it’s looking really good. As far as managing time, I remember when mine were little, I would use nap time and when they went to bed at night, as my art time. You can only do what you can do. Be kind to yourself. ♥

  4. Ivette – you could be a forger! You are amazing. Such a talent you are.
    I’m headed back to the states for a few weeks. I’d love to see you when I get up to Portland. Write me!

  5. Your art work is beautiful! Your reproductions look amazing and you should be so proud of what you have accomplished. Making time for art work can be such a challenge. I cannot imagine doing it with two young kids, and you seem to be doing it so gracefully. Beautiful job.

  6. Ivy,

    I enjoy looking at your art. You inspire me to make better use of my time and do something that I have been longing to engage in: My art.
    I have been drawing, painting, creating since I was very young. But, haven’t done much with it (except win first place in a high school art contest) but, have had a desire to do more. I am interested in learning watercolor. Is this online class a start-at-anytime course? Is it expensive?

    Keep painting… I think I will pick up my paintbrush and do the same. :)

  7. My husband gets through his art projects by being sure that he does at least a little bit every day. That little bit is very well defined. I couldn’t ever seem to keep enough of a schedule to accomplish even that while there were one and then two young ones in the house. What I can do is what my now twenty-three year old daughter taught me when I said I couldn’t ever find time to read. She told me to always have a book with me where ever I go. And it works! I can now actually read more than half a book a year. (I also found a very small digital camera to carry with me even when I’m taking a small bag, so I’m always able to photograph.)

    One never knows when one is going to have to stand in line, or wait for someone else’s class to finish (known as drum lessons for the son). Perhaps you could have a pocket sketchbook that always comes with you, then in the odd moment you could move ahead in art piece by piece.

  8. Leslie

    Beautiful work! The course you’re doing looks like such fun.

  9. Hi there Ivy – you have a realistic and endearing spirit regarding portioning your life and your art. You’ve found a balance that many long to achieve.I’m now 50 with an eleven-year art director’s career long behind and the confidence of refreshed hope knocking at my wrinkling door! You have inspired me to multitask away and do it gracefully. I will forage on as a newbie blogger.
    Thank you for that.
    AnnMarie – anntogether.com

  10. Beautiful. I love your creativity. Keep up the inspiration in the midst of busyness and responsibilities.

  11. I love your pics, so beautiful !

  12. Maddie

    awesome! good work :)

  13. Your paintings are beautiful, keep carving out time:) My girls are both in elementary school. Once they started school – carving out that time becomes quite a bit easier. Mondays and Fridays are my “domestic” days where I do all that housekeeping stuff no one likes to do. I volunteer at the girls’ school but I can pick and choose so it works with my schedule. Looks like you are definitely on the right track! Blessings ~ Cassie

  14. lafriday

    Ivy, I just discovered your blog. My daughter is now 23 (and a graphic designer), but when she was little, I discovered the BEST way to carve out art time, was to give her creativity flight AT THE SAME TIME. It may not be ideal, but it allows you to nourish yourself creatively and teaches them to explore their own artist within. However, writing is where it became very challenging as I would wake up early to write and then Katie would bound out of bed and want my attention. A friend had given me a “Bloom Where You’re Planted” baseball cap. I made a deal with my daughter that if I was wearing the hat when she woke up, she had to let me finish what I was doing (no talking and no interrupting–emergencies excepted), and then I was all hers afterward. It kept our mornings joyful, allowed me to nurture my creative voice, and taught her some gentle boundaries. I did try to wrap up my writing in a timely fashion so she didn’t have to wait too long, but I was able to finish my thoughts without interruption (or resentment). It looks as if you have room in your studio space for a small table that you could set up for your daughters to make art along side of you. Just give them materials that don’t require your constant attention. For small hands: I recommend teaching them to “draw” with scissors (LOVE Fiskars for Kids) and construction paper. I used this technique when I taught art to young children. Regardless, the push/pull of the creative mother is constant, but remember this: their young days are short and over before you know it. Cherish them. There will be long uninterrupted days for creating as they mature, but the wonder of childhood, and the chance to create memories with your girls, is fleeting.

  15. It’s been awhile since I’ve done some art. Jeez nearly 8 months ago or so. Love your watercolours here.

I would love to hear from you! What are your thoughts?

