A Marriage of Oil and Water

There is something very beautiful about a perfect emulsion.

The blending of two opposites.

Tonight, while sipping some lovely Oregon Pinot Noir, I went to work crafting up a fresh batch of my Green Tea Night Cream. Everything was going swimmingly until it came to the MOST important part…the EMULSION.

It always makes me a tad nervous and I often feel like I am suddenly out of control. Slowly, I drizzle the water part into the swirling golden oils. I say a quiet prayer.

At first they resist each other forming a rather disgusting mixture, resisting each other. Then, just when I’m about to give up, something magical happens and the oil and water embrace each other.

I let my breath out and utter silent thanks.

The result: Perfectly luscious cream.

2 Comments

Filed under Crafting

2 responses to “A Marriage of Oil and Water

  1. Pete

    Ivy,

    Amazing photographs and sooo beautifully writen…I’m blown away.

  2. Anna

    I love this blog, there is a sense of peacefullness to it. Love the colors, pictures and information. keep it going!! will look forward to more entries.

I would love to hear from you! What are your thoughts?

