A hug in a bowl

I came back from the coast today and after three fun-filled days with my girlfriends I was pleasantly relaxed but also completely wiped. Cooking did not sound good to me. I was just too pooped.

My dear husband jumped at the opportunity to control the kitchen so he whipped up a super comforting pot of butternut squash soup! I felt like a lucky girl. Here’s the basic recipe that he followed…here.

He’s not one to stick to a recipe so he took it up a notch by grilling the butternut squash, adding 3 cloves of minced fresh garlic, a dollop of sour cream and a splash of 1/2 and 1/2. To really give it an extra ounce of deliciousness he sprinkled in some aged cheddar cheese.

For dunking (cuz he knows I’m a total dunker) he toasted some fresh sourdough bread smeared with garlic butter…

I was in heaven.  It’s good to be home.

xo,

Ivy

4 Comments

Filed under Food, Recipes, Stories

4 responses to “A hug in a bowl

  1. that sounds like an awesome method.
    Butternut aquash soup is delicious but try it wth roast red pepper too. yum

  2. How sweet! Sounds delicious. I love when my husband cooks for me. :)

    • Hi Rachel,

      Thanks so much for visiting my blog. Yours is just gorgeous. Such an inspiration. I’m flattered you stopped by. :) Hope you are enjoying that Hawaiian sun. This is just about the time that all the Portlanders flee the rain for Hawaii…wish I was one of them! :)

I would love to hear from you! What are your thoughts?

