Jake

Today, my family lost Jake to cancer. He was 9 years old.

I was there the day we picked him out of his litter. A dirty, stinky, lovable, big pawed pup. So full of life. We took him home and gave him a bubble bath. That day he captured our hearts.

A little prayer for our dear friend…

Jake, I pray that you will always gaze upon the Montana mountains…

I pray that you will roll in every patch of heavenly snow and jump into every shimmering puddle, stream and river…you always loved the water.

I pray that you will come back and visit your horse buddy, Corky.

Most of all, I pray that you know you were adored, loved and cherished.

Silly, goofy, sweet, playful, trusting, loyal – Jake you will be sorely missed. I love you. Goodbye…

To my parents, who had to be the ones to put him down today, I’m so sorry I couldn’t be there with you.

To anyone who has lost a special animal…I send you my love and my sorrow.

xo,

6 Comments

Filed under Love, photography, Stories, Thoughts

6 responses to “Jake

  1. Linda

    I’m so sorry about Jake. I lost my sweet Redbone Coonhound to cancer far too young last month – she was barely 8 yrs and 4 months. I wish you peace and love and comfort.

  2. Jake sure had lots of love and a wonderful place to roam.
    Wonderful pictures and memories

  3. Lauren Strong and Allen Rogstad

    We love Jake and always will. He would sleep with us whenever we visited your parents. He loved getting his belly scratched and eating pancakes, ice cream, and cheese. He had a heart of gold with enormous character. He pranced like a show dog and often refused to chase his bone into the yard if sprinklers were on. We love you Jake!! We know you are in a beautiful dog heaven full of mountains, food, and plenty of places to prance. R.I.P Jake, you were truly one of a kind!!!
    Anna and Peter, you are in our thoughts!!

  4. Marty

    Dear Ivy,

    To you and your family I extend my heartfelt sympathy. Jake looked like a wonderful dog. Today’s he’s at Rainbow Bridge and as happy as ever. I have been thru this painful journey and understand your feelings. Right now, I am going thru it again as I am watching my precious dog Sweetie slipping away day by day. She was a beautiful 80+ lb white Sheperd/Lab mix when she came bounding into our home one snowy winter night. That was 11 years ago. She is now 43 lbs and still beautiful in my eyes yet is not nearly as happy as she once was. Her mind wanders and it breaks my heart. During a horrible season of grief she never left my side and I will not leave hers until the last minute. I know you will miss Jake and cherish every good memory of him. No doubt he was lucky to have such a loving family as well. I will be thinking of you all. ~ Marty

  5. I was dropping in from the BYW forum and had to comment. I have a black lab who has been my faithful friend for ten years. I can’t imagine life without him but know I’ll have to face that reality in the next few years. My heart goes out to you.

    • Jillian thanks so much for your kind words. It’s amazing how deeply connected we can get to our animals. I hope your friend is around for many more healthy, happy years. Thanks for visiting me. xo

I would love to hear from you! What are your thoughts?

