A Creative Weekend away…

Hello there! How is life treating you this week? Besides a pesky summer cold, I’m doing quite well and I’m so thankful that last weekend I got to get away with a dear friend for a creative retreat! We stayed at the sweetest cottage in the quaint Oregon beach town of Manzanita. Here are some shots via my Instagram

Screen Shot 2013-07-24 at 4.01.53 PM

This cottage doesn’t get any cuter right? It is the perfect place for a beach getaway.

Screen Shot 2013-07-24 at 4.07.02 PM

Screen Shot 2013-07-24 at 4.02.32 PM

Screen Shot 2013-07-24 at 4.02.22 PM

The vintage kitchen is adorable with layered personal touches and unique collections.

Screen Shot 2013-07-24 at 4.04.13 PM

Mornings (sans kids) were blissfully quiet and peaceful – sipping coffee, reading magazines and writing in my journal. Here is Katie enjoying a fav cooking mag.

Screen Shot 2013-07-24 at 4.04.01 PM

Screen Shot 2013-07-24 at 4.03.50 PM

After we had substantial amounts of coffee we would move outside into the “garage” which is really an amazing outbuilding that my friend Candace converted into a charming dining hall. Strung with lights and adorned with artwork, old wine bottles and other beautiful objects it feels like a beachy treasure trove. The energy in this space is fantastic and you can tell many wonderful evenings have been spent at the long farmhouse table. We were immediately inspired.

Screen Shot 2013-07-24 at 4.02.07 PM

It didn’t take long for us to spread out and get right into a creative zone…

Screen Shot 2013-07-24 at 4.18.04 PM

Screen Shot 2013-07-24 at 4.03.36 PM

After a little bit of art journaling and playing with my watercolors…

Screen Shot 2013-07-24 at 4.02.59 PM

Screen Shot 2013-07-24 at 4.02.46 PM

I began a small mixed media piece…

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 10.42.41 AM

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 10.43.06 AM

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 10.43.19 AM

Screen Shot 2013-07-24 at 4.03.22 PM

Almost done…Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 10.43.35 AM

Screen Shot 2013-07-24 at 4.04.32 PM

And finished! Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 10.43.48 AM

It was an amazing weekend and I was sad to leave. As much as I missed my family, having some precious time to focus on art was such a gift. Katie and I agreed to do it again soon! Thank you, Candace for letting us stay at your magical home!

Do you have a favorite place to get away and create?

xo,

Ivy

16 Comments

Filed under Art, collage, Crafting, creativity, holiday, photography, Stories, Travel, vintage

16 responses to “A Creative Weekend away…

  1. perfect, and i love all the creative projects going on )

  2. Sounds like a fantastic weekend! Oregon is so wonderful in the summer!

  3. Yes- the space is has wonderful energy for creating. Another Friend Jennifer Lauck just finished her fourth book, and spent many days in the magical cottage. Nice to spread out and I like the finished piece!

  4. Looks like you had a beautiful weekend. Sometimes it just takes that opportunity to get away from the clutter of everyday life to truly become inspired. The quaint setting must have added that extra magic of inspiration. I hope you get to go again. Thanks for sharing.

  5. It looks magical and relaxing!

  6. I would love to go to a place like this one! It makes me dream! It looks just like in the movies!
    Please check out my blog and let’s follow each other! ;-) xx
    http://prettylittletreasures.wordpress.com

  7. carabensonphotography

    I love the artwork!! It has given me some inspiration to do some like that now (:

  8. acwaechter

    Manzanita is one of my favorite spots in the whole world. I’m so happy for you that you got to go. Lovely post.

  9. The Firefly Hook

    ooo- I am feeling very inspired to take a similar trip. My Firefly Hook team (who are my dearest friends) may need a creative weekend! What a lovely time you had! Thanks for sharing:)

  10. Glad to have scrolled down to see the lovely portrait and collage, expressive, sentimental, and powerful. It can be so hard to fit creative time in, so nice to see the process and result with the (time lapse) photography.

  11. Thank you for sharing this inspiring post! It looks like it was an amazing weekend of creativity and friendship.

  12. Pingback: A Creative Weekend away… |

  13. Wow, I love your work! I’m hoping to get some pieces on my blog soon. You make me wanna pull out my watercolors and get to work! Thanks for the inspiration!

    http://poorjessieann6.wordpress.com/

  14. Love your work, and Love Manzanita!

  15. Wish that was a rental! I don’t know anyone with a beach house there, but I have stayed in a rental before in Manzanita. It is a calm lovely place to go. The long table is indeed inspiring – now I want to put one in my garage at home.

    We all need breaks – glad you got such a nice one.

I would love to hear from you! What are your thoughts?

