Creating art on the iPad

Hi there friends! I know it’s been quite a while since I last posted but this summer has been so busy! A few days ago, I actually got the chance to sit quietly with a cup of coffee and watch another video from my class with Jeanne Oliver.

This time she was exploring the power of creating artwork digitally on the iPad using an application called Procreate. Being a Photoshop lover, I was skeptical but I’m so glad I watched because Procreate is surprisingly addictive, easy to use and quite robust. I began to create small digital illustrations on my iPad and have been obsessed ever since.

Here are a few pieces I have created already…

Untitled artwork-1 copy

Untitled artwork-2 copy

photo-7

I have been having so much fun making these. It’s amazing to create art while on the go. Stay tuned, I will be breaking down the process of how I completed this last piece very soon – complete with some handy tips and tricks!

Hope your week is going well.

xo,

Ivy

18 Comments

Filed under Art, creativity, Digital Art

18 responses to “Creating art on the iPad

  1. So so gorgeous!! I am continually amazed by you!

  2. So glad you are doing this! My iPad gets used for email, messaging, a little FB. I’m just not apple savvy.

  3. I love these! I will have to check out this app.
    I am really loving the app “Paper” on my iPad. It is a very natural looking drawing & painting app.

  4. nadjalike

    Soooooo gorgeous! Love them.

  5. Vickie

    Oh, my gosh, they are absolutely BEAUTIFUL. I was wondering how to create art on the computer as I’m not really an artists, but I wanted to create some simple logos with writing and watercolours for my new business, which I think I could manage if I try hard. I might go check out the program you mention. It’s sometime so serendipitous how you’ll wonder how to do something, and bang someone does it on a blog. Funny!

  6. how clever – they turned out beautiful!

  7. Soooo lovely…will check this app out. Thanks for sharing.

  8. I love creating art on my tablet. I have the samsung galaxy note and its great for creating digital illustrations. I use a similar program for android called AutoDesk sketchbook pro and its wonderful to be able to do so much from anywhere.

  9. dmpage

    Reblogged this on MyCreativeArtJournal and commented:
    One of the two blogs entries I’ve found today while listening to Mozart and drinking my morning coffee. Inspired and fascinated in their creative process.

  10. carabensonphotography

    These are amazing!! They make me want to get an iPad purely so I cant do this too (: x

  11. I enjoyed your blog although, I myself do not own a IPad and the only art program that I have on my notebook pc is what came from the factory.

    I love art and truly adore your pieces. They have an Art Nouveau feeling but are less whimsical with not having the violent curves that Art Nouveau has. It has no less of an organic composition than Art Nouveau pieces just the same and organics are, in my opinion, the most beautiful creations.

    When you have finished your work, what do you do with it? Where does it go or where do you use it? I had this question when I read your blog, but I have not yet seen your answer other than it is posted on this website.

    I am excited to see more of your work in the future and keep up the good work!

    • Hi there! Thank you so much for your thoughtful comment. I truly appreciate it. Art Nouveau is my favorite art so I love that you see that in my work. Right now I am selling a few pieces of my work on Society 6. The link is on the side bar of my blog. I hope one day to sell more work directly from the blog but I am just starting out again and building a collection so we will see how long that takes! ;) Thanks again for visiting me here and sharing your thoughts. xo.

      • That’s great! You’re welcome, and Art Nouveau is my favorite too, and you should do very well with achieving your goals, but good luck with them just the same, :) and I will check out your site.

  12. Pingback: Creating Art on the IPad : A Walkthru my process |

I would love to hear from you! What are your thoughts?

