Abstract Art: A new challenge

Hi all! How’s life? I’m a little giddy right now because I just finished another piece of art.

This time, it was a LARGE (for me) piece of abstract art. The client (a dear friend) had a very specific color palette and she wanted it to feel very organic – no strong linear elements or sign of anything recognizable. Eeek!

You guys know my work…it’s detailed, mostly realistic and nothing even close to abstract. I hesitated when she asked me to do this project but agreed thinking it might be a fun challenge. She insisted that there was no rush. No deadline. That helped my nerves…somewhat.

Within the next couple of weeks, I ordered a large easel and gathered some supplies. Before you knew it, I had taken over our living room, setting up in the bay window to take advantage of the light.

Screen Shot 2013-08-22 at 1.58.59 PM

Sitting face to face with this large canvas I felt serious doubt. I didn’t know what the heck I was doing!? Pushing past the fear, I proceeded to get my paints on the palette. Screen Shot 2013-08-22 at 2.08.44 PM

Almost mechanically, I began applying color slowly with control and then, as my logical mind excused itself from the room, my whole body relaxed. An art trance. Peaceful and serene, I trusted my hand.

Screen Shot 2013-08-22 at 1.59.41 PM

My hubby sneaked into the room and snapped this pic of me with his phone. I hardly noticed him. :)

Screen Shot 2013-08-22 at 1.59.22 PM

This was just one of the stages this painting went thru. It actually looks nothing like this now. I will share a pic of the finished piece next week after it is installed above my friend’s mantle.  She loves the finished piece and has already commissioned me to do another one! I couldn’t be more thrilled and humbled. Looks like I found a sweet patron for my passion. My fingers itch to begin the next project!

My lessons from all this –

1. Don’t be afraid to try something new.

2. Don’t let fear prevent you from growing.

3. Go outside the box and revel in the freedom.

****and most importantly****

4.  Trust your gifts.

Try something new soon and feel the thrill of stretching beyond your own limits.

xo,

Ivy

14 Comments

Filed under Art, creativity, painting, Thoughts

14 responses to “Abstract Art: A new challenge

  1. I just LOVE when the right side of my brain takes over and I go to “that place” where time stops and I’m one with the canvas. It’s so cool that you tapped into that despite the left side of your brain trying to convince you otherwise. Can’t wait to see the finished work!

  2. Cathy Garrett

    Congrats on the commissioned piece! The colors are so beautiful! You never cease to amaze me. I love your work. I always look forward to seeing your next piece of art. What kind of paint did you use for this piece?

  3. oh I can’t wait to see the finished artwork above your friends mantle! Can I ask a blogging question? I have an Iphone 5 and if I try uploading any pictures from it to my blog they can only be the smallest size or they look fuzzy- how do you upload and have them look so great?
    thanks,
    xo beth

    • Hi Beth! Thank you so much! I actually uploaded these images to Instagram and then did a screen capture from my profile page on Instagram.com. You can also email the pictures to yourself and choose the highest size file – that way they won’t be compressed. Then save them from your email and upload them to your blog. Hope that helped. :) xo.

  4. whitesheepblog

    Congrats!! I loved! I have to confess my ignorance about abstract art, but I loved!

  5. Lovely! Aren’t we lucky when our creativity takes us to that place where we loose ourselves and just give in to wherever the spirit takes us?

  6. What a wonderful experience for you! I can’t wait to see the finished piece, but what you have posted here is lovely! I did that one day a while back just for fun. It was a small piece, but I wanted to use all of my acrylic colors and just went crazy. It was great fun! Congratulations on the commissioned pieces! That really must be thrilling.

  7. Im really looking forward to your next post with the finished piece. Judging by the last photograph above its going to be stunning! I love how its like looking at trees through a waterfall…or something like that. Does that make sense? good luck with the next one. X

  8. I just love your art! Warms the heart from inside! Greetings from Switzerland!

    http://thebubblyspeckle.com/2013/08/25/619/

  9. Great words of advice. Kudos on the painting

  10. I just love your art! Warms the heart from inside!

I would love to hear from you! What are your thoughts?

