Abstract Art: Part 2

Hi everyone,

How are you? I’ve got a sick little Claire at home with me today. Doesn’t it just break your heart when your little ones are sick? No fun. :(

While she naps, I wanted to post the photo I promised of my finished piece of abstract art but first I wanted to show you the crazy journey this painting took me on.

Some details about this piece…it is done completely in acrylic paint. I did use modeling paste and gel mediums to create texture which my friend requested. A lot of metamorphosis took place as I tried to navigate my way through the process of abstract art.

It started here…a rather linear and geometric composition…

Screen Shot 2013-08-22 at 1.59.22 PM

then meandered into a bizarre landscape complete with waterfalls….not completely sure how this happened….No, I was not intoxicated. lol.

IMG_6435

BUT then I remembered…I was painting this for SOMEONE else! This was not what she wanted at all! Geez…

So it became this…

Screen Shot 2013-08-28 at 12.44.21 PM

IMG_6540

We delivered the commissioned piece the other evening and her and her husband were thrilled! We propped it up on their mantel to gaze at it while we sipped some bubbles. I hardly spoke the entire drive over because I was so nervous but to see the delight in their eyes…well that said it all! I was overwhelmed with gratitude and joy for the opportunity!

I had completed my first commissioned work and it felt good. I took home two HUGE canvases for me to start on more projects for her. I can’t wait to get moving on those…although they are simultaneously scaring the crap out of me.

Is abstract art my future? I doubt it. Am I in love with this piece? No, not really – but the fact that my art could bring happiness to someone else and be a focal point in their home – makes this entire experience so worth it! I’ll keep you posted on the next two experiments…I mean projects. ;)

xo,

Ivy

8 Comments

Filed under Art, creativity, painting

8 responses to “Abstract Art: Part 2

  1. Lori

    It looks amazing! You are so brave, That was the first thing I thought when I seen your image on Instagram.
    I feel anxious every time I do something for someone else. I know I’m in love with it I just hope that they’re in love with it and like you said On commission work even Though I may not be in love with it be it, i hope they’re still in love with it, It’s difficult to capture someone else’s thoughts and feelings.

    • Thank you so much Lori! Yes commission work, as I’m learning is a bit tricky but I love the challenge of trying to achieve what the client wants and I love the way it takes me out of my comfort zone so I can expand as an artist. Thank you again for your encouragement. Best of luck to your with all your work. xo.

  2. I love the first itteration. But the whole thing turned out beautifully if the client loves it :)

    Looking forward to getting my hands on my own canvases now! Thanks for the inspiration!

  3. Very, very well done, Ivy! No wonder she was tickled when she saw it. It’s beautiful!

  4. Cathy Garrett

    Beautiful colors and piece!

  5. Sheila Earhart

    Its awesome!! I must admit too, that the first one is my fave too. Maybe go that way again & don’t doubt yourself & over think it (as I would too). You ARE brave! A new friend of mine (who is an amazing abstract artist here in Oregon) has been enciuraging me to try it. Thank you for reinforcing that for me. You rock!
    Sheila

  6. Thats is an amazing piece!
    New to wordpress design/artists community I am thrilled to have found your blog! I look forward to man more amazing posts. I also have a mom blog here somewhere too lol, so the other side of me understands that part of your world as well. A brave woman and congratulations heres to much more HUGE success! pS. I think you painting is just perfect. A definite buy if I could ;D

  7. elgakarina

    you have a very nice place there :)

I would love to hear from you! What are your thoughts?

