Mixed Media Workshop – Success!

Hello friends!

I hope you are all doing well and enjoying the holiday season! I gotta tell you my heart has been bursting with joy since teaching my Mixed Media Workshop this past weekend!

Oh. My. Goodness! I couldn’t even have wished for a better outcome! All my nerves quickly melted away as I met each beautiful student – 7 shining, bright, amazing women! What a group! Plus, my co-hostess, Katie was SO awesome! She handled all the food, drink and goodies so I could focus on teaching Art! Total bliss!

Instead of rambling on and on, I’ll just share some of the photos…

Screen Shot 2014-12-10 at 11.45.51 AM

I wanted to make sure every detail was thought of! It was a labor of LOVE and worth every second.

classroom5

My living room was gutted and turned into a festive classroom! What a truly rewarding experience to get the opportunity to teach what I am so passionate about. We used collage, encaustics, acrylic paint, pastels, ink, oil pastels and more! It was a serious Mixed Media Party!!

workshop collage1

wokshop collage 2

workshop collage 3

workshop collage 4

The work that came out of these extraordinary women was mind blowing and so gorgeous! We worked on a smaller piece that was more focused on landscapes and then finished the day with a portrait project.

artworks collage1 art pair Robins work more art georgianna lane art

Screen Shot 2014-12-10 at 11.46.02 AM

That night we went out to dinner and continued the bonding. Artist, Jenny Wentworth came into town to join us too! What fun! I was beaming with joy and couldn’t stop smiling!

Screen Shot 2014-12-10 at 11.46.13 AM

The weekend ended with an Open Studio session on Sunday morning back at my place.

Oh and this sweet video brought me to tears of joy. Thanks guys!

 

This experience has deeply changed me. I challenged myself to do something that terrified me and conquered it! Woo! What a fabulous feeling! On top of that, I made authentic, magical connections to new artistic friends. Plus, I think I have finally found my calling. Teaching felt exhilarating, inspiring and just so darn right! I am so incredibly grateful. Thank you to all who participated! I can’t wait till the next one!

xo,

Ivy

 

23 Comments

Filed under Art, Art lessons, collage, creativity, encaustic, Learning, mixed media, painting, Stories, teaching, workshop

23 responses to “Mixed Media Workshop – Success!

  1. What a great idea! Looks like a lot of fun!

  2. Congratulations! looks like a great event – if I was closer I would attend too!

  3. You can see the love you put into he details, so happy for you!

  4. Cathy Garrett

    Congrats on your success. Ivy I new you would be a great teacher. Wish I could have been there. So happy for you!

  5. One more thing the artwork is amazing. Beautiful!

  6. Dear Ivy, Thank you again for creating such brilliant, beautiful, safe and nurturing retreat that will have lasting positive effects for all of us lucky enough to attend. xo

  7. I am so excited for you! How exciting! You have totally inspired me! I have been wanting to hold a workshop in my home,and you have given me the confidence!What beautiful art!

  8. Acho seus quadros lindos, feliz natal querida, tudo de bom.

  9. robinlaws

    awwwwwww this is such a gorgeous and true description of the weekend! you are an outstanding art professor Ms Newport!!!!

  10. Craft parties are becoming all the rage. This beats a book club any day of the week.

  11. Wow. It looks like you all had an amazing time! The artwork is gorgeous too ;))

  12. What a fun looking party and everyone’s artwork was a masterpiece! Great job!!

  13. looks like a great event and I will wait your new post :),please visit http://www.helloworldmagazine.com Hello World Magazine

  14. oh sind das schöne Bilder.

  15. Beautiful paintings … what a great way to spend a weekend.

  16. This art is so beautiful. Thanks for sharing!

  17. Lovely results! What a nice turnout

  18. Congratulations! you have been nominated for the”very inspiring blogger” award! Go to this link and it will tell you what to do!
    https://saharared.wordpress.com/2015/04/21/the-blooger-award/

  19. Pingback: Online Mixed Media & Encaustic Workshop |

  20. Pingback: A Mixed Media & Encaustic ONLINE Workshop |

I would love to hear from you! What are your thoughts?

