Birds of a Feather…

Hello friends! Hope your weekend was relaxing. Ours was filled with birthday parties and time in the sun – a lovely pairing!

Last Friday, I started my day with a trip to the hairdresser….yah! My hair was in desperate need of some love. While my stylist was washing my hair, I noticed a tiny sliver of feather hanging just below her ear. It was subtle but so pretty and whimsical – I knew I must have one. It felt a little rebellious to ask for one in my hair but I went for it!  So, here it is…I think I want more! Can you see it?

Doing something a little different like this makes me feel bold, like I’m stretching beyond my rather conservative (boring) norm. It’s amazing how just little baby steps outside our comfort zone makes us grow. What’s next a tattoo? Probably not…but you never know…

I guess with this whole bohemian trend in fashion, it’s no surprise that feathers are showing up in women’s tresses. Check out these other looks…

Images via: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

So pretty! Don’t want to commit to a feather extension? try a clip from Etsy.

What do you think? Would you put a few feathers in your hair? What is something that you could do outside your own comfort zone?

xo,

12 Comments

Filed under Beauty, fashion, Stories

12 responses to “Birds of a Feather…

  1. Marty

    You are young and brave Ivy ! The feather does not surprise me on you – its very subtle……and who else but the bird lover ? haha. Me? I’m just trying to nerve myself up to have my hair highlighted ! Talk about conservative – that’s me, through and through; probably too late to change now, But your little adventure looks wonderful on you.

  2. Pingback: Men’s ($15) or Women’s ($20) Wash, Cut, and Style | 4 Real Cheap

  3. Pingback: Salon Services at F.A.B. Hair and Aesthetics. Three Options Available. | KomiDaily

  4. Pingback: Salon Services at F.A.B. Hair and Aesthetics. Three Options Available. - Koream Deals

  5. Ooh I like it! It was hard photographing my feather extensions too, as I think they pop more in person than in a photo.

  6. AAA! I love it!! Super sexy and fierce ;) So cool. OK, now come to LA and rock your new stuff, girl! XO!

  7. Pingback: Salon Services at F.A.B. Hair and Aesthetics. Three Options Available. » Get your daily Groupon deals

  8. Pingback: $79 for Feather Hair Extensions, Haircut, and Deep-Conditioning Mask, Plus a $25 Gift Card, at Suede Salon ($178 Value) | KomiDaily

  9. Pingback: $79 for Feather Hair Extensions, Haircut, and Deep-Conditioning Mask, Plus a $25 Gift Card, at Suede Salon ($178 Value) - Daily Couponds

  10. Deanna

    i absolutely loved all these pictures they are all beautiful

  11. Laura

    I love this look! You’re so right about the “whimsical” look of them. :) I’ve considered getting one for a while now, I think I might finally do it! :D

  12. Exquisitely beautiful – both the feathers and the Ivy. Here’s the scoop. Today woman can be as unique as they want to. And you have the panache to do. I look forward to your next fashion statement. Bravo!! Virginia

I would love to hear from you! What are your thoughts?