Home sweet home

Bonsoir my friends! Happy Easter! I hope you all enjoyed the holiday weekend.

I returned from Paris on Monday and I’m starting to get back into my groove. Forgive the delay in posting pics! I do have over 300 images to edit and it’s a rather daunting job, not to mention the mounds of Parisian treasures unearthed at the flea markets that need to be photographed and listed on my Etsy shop! It’s been a busy week but I couldn’t be more satisfied.

Paris was…amazing, dreamy, surreal, inspiring, overwhelming, breathtaking, exhausting, life-changing and incredible. I could go on…but I think you get what I mean.

We arrived at 2 pm. Dropped off by a friendly, somewhat amused (at us) cab driver in front of our Paris flat on Rue de Grenelle in the 7th Arrondissment. I felt like I had landed on a different planet. Jetlagged, pregnant and stupefied, I was overcome with how surreal it felt to actually be in Paris. My head was swimming as I took in our surroundings – beautiful old buildings with ironwork filigree, a quaint cafe across the street bustling with locals, a fruit vendor rearranging bunches of white asparagus, the aroma of fresh bread and flowers and the ever-present, gentle hum of the French language buzzing around us. I must have looked like a deer in headlights. I was in Paris. For real.

After settling into our apartment, we headed over to the corner bistro. Terrified, I approached the gentleman at the door.

“Bonjour?” My voice was barely audible. This whole language barrier was freaking me out…even after all my French practice.

He smiled and said in English, “Table for two, for lunch?”

I must have sighed rather loudly, because he chuckled. I nodded and he seated us at a sidewalk table and handed us English menus. Were we that obvious? I guess so.

With shaking hands, I managed to wolf down my first Parisian meal. Roasted chicken, scallop potatoes and a salad. Not that interesting but it did wonders for my blood sugar.

With a full belly we decided to stroll over to the Eiffel tower, ten blocks away.

Here comes that surreal feeling again. I stood in awe, gazing at this beautiful structure – the one seen through out my home on coasters, prints and pillows. There it was before me. Let me tell you, it is truly stunning!

As night fell, we headed back to our flat to (hopefully) sleep! I have never felt more exhausted and giddy all at the same time.

Here was the view from our bedroom window…

Sleep came quickly but I awoke at 11 pm to this sight…


Pure magic.

xo,

6 Comments

Filed under Etsy, News, Paris, photography, Stories, Travel

6 responses to “Home sweet home

  1. Erica Bach

    I want more, I want more! You are such a fabulous writer, you should write a book! :-)

  2. Paris is gorgeous – all pastel and light. Magical! I want to take another trip back there. Glad your journey was successful!

  3. Pingback: Party Palette: Sepia + Patina | The Sweetest Occasion

  4. Mom

    I want more!!! see you on Friday. love you, Mom

  5. Oh Ivy,
    It sounds like you had a wonderful life changing experience!!~
    I can’t wait to see all of your beautiful photos! I love that photo of the Eiffel Tower, it’s simply stunning!~
    Hope you have a beautiful week!
    Sincerely,
    Melinda

  6. Gorgeous, I would love to visit Paris someday.

I would love to hear from you! What are your thoughts?